Skip to content

Leadership Harrisonburg-Rockingham

The Leadership Harrisonburg-Rockingham (LHR) program originally began in 1979 as the Community Leadership Program. Since its inception in 1979, the Harrisonburg-Rockingham Chamber of Commerce’s Community Leadership Program has been a great way to make contacts with other professionals in our area. It is an exceptional resource for building community awareness and enhancing team leadership skills. Over 1,000 individuals have graduated from the program since the inaugural class of 1979-80!

LHR Logo

Leadership Harrisonburg-Rockingham (LHR) strives to create a lasting impact on Harrisonburg and Rockingham County by developing current and future leaders through community awareness, engagement, and education. The program is designed to expose current and aspiring leaders to the many different aspects of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County; educating them about the community’s past, present and future, including our strengths and opportunities that will help us build a better tomorrow. A strong emphasis on leadership development is woven into the program, beginning with a team-building session.

For more information about Leadership Harrisonburg-Rockingham,  please contact Alexis Mackey

Applications now available here for the 2024-2025 Program year. Applications due by 5:00 PM, May 3rd. Please submit applications to Alexis Mackey at

Leadership Harrisonburg-Rockingham Class of 23-24

Scott Arbogast  ||  Blue Ridge Insurance Services

Dustin Atkins  ||  IT Decisions

Christopher Beach  ||  Bank of the James

Emily Bender  ||  Church World Services

Liz Bereit  ||  James Madison University

Lindsay Bowers  ||  LD&B Insurance & Financial Services

Bailey Carpenter || Rockingham Cooperative

Josh Carty  ||  Rockingham Cooperative

Brittany Dorman  ||  Big Brothers Big Sisters

Kim Hulse  ||  Commonwealth One

Ashlyn Johns  ||  Massanutten Resort

Marissa Lutz  ||  Valley Program for Aging Services

Terry Martin  ||  Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community

Kayla Meunier  ||  Bridgewater Retirement Community

Brandon Monnett  ||  Miller Coors

Benjamin Moomaw  ||  Nielson Builders

Katy Morris  ||  Sentara

Aaron Reed  ||  Lantz Construction

Jim Sacco  ||  United Way

Sorayda Rodriguez  ||  Massanutten Resort

Nora Sutton  ||  James Madison University

Angela Thomas  ||  Blue Ridge Bank

Mary Walala  ||  Harrisonburg Redevelopment & Housing Authority

Kellie Walker  ||  Rehabilitative Services Vocational Placement, Inc.

Kevin Wheeler  ||  Clark & Bradshaw


Thank you to our Sponsors!

Graduation Sponsor:

Welcome Session Sponsor: 

Session Sponsors: 

Horizons Hospitality

Alumni Sponsor: 

Leadership Harrisonburg-Rockingham Class of 22-23 Graduates

Aaron Trovato || Nielsen Builders, Inc

Amanda Randall || James Madison University

Anna Wagner || The Community Foundation Harrisonburg Rockingham County

Bethany Blackstone || James Madison University

Brian Bosley || Blue Ridge Bank, N.A.

Carrie Grimes || Schrock Financial

Casey Collins  || LD&B Insurance and Financial Services

Dylan Slabach || IT Decisions, LLC

Emily Reed || Massanutten Resort

Kara Grosbach || Endless Horizons

Kara Zirkle || Dynamic Aviation Group, Inc

Katherine (Kate) Bray || F&M Financial Services

Kimberly Ashlin || Harrisonburg Redevelopment & Housing Authority

Matthew (Matt) Evans || Massanutten Resort

Molly Lam || Massanutten Resort

Olivia Shifflett || Leitner Law Group, PLC

Russell Leary || NewBridges Immigrant Resource Center

Ryan Hedrick || Nielsen Builders, Inc

Shelby Schultz || Sentara RMH Medical Center

Terri Carrier || LD&B Insurance and Financial Services

Tracey Veney || Nielsen Builders, Inc

Virginia (Ginny) Cramer || James Madison University

Weihong (Janet) Ping || Blue Ridge Community College

Xochitl Martinez || Cambiando Vidas

Graduating Class

Alumni: Leadership Harrisonburg-Rockingham Class of 22-23